Images of Riyadh: First Dust Storm of the Season

Faisaliyah Tower in a dust storm/sandstorm. In case you forgot what it looks like normally, the photo is below for comparison.

 

Fine dust blows into everything, coming in through every crack- windows, doors, air conditioning vents, exhaust vents. Breathing is labored as it gets into your lungs. Land and air visibility is greatly reduced. People wax poetic about shamals, I tend to cough.

Looking up the various types, remember my last post about driving through a sandstorm with intermittent rain? That is officially called a haboob

4 Responses

  1. Wow! Great photos. I’ve never seen the Faisaliyah Tower, but I have indeed seen sandstorms. Would you believe that I actually miss them?

    I guess that’s part of romanticizing the past, no?

  2. AA-

    Seems like your blog earned its name yesterday!

    What an ugly day it was. 😦

  3. You’ve got some really great photos here – and I love your closeup of the camel header photo – awesome!

  4. Marahm: missing sandstorms is def romanticizing the past 🙂

    Naeem: this blog was first conceived last year during a dust storm!

    Susie: thanks! camels are really cute 🙂 I love taking pics of life and all the places I visit/explore. I am an unashamed pic-taker, willing to whip my camera out of my purse anywhere!

    I have even slowly started digitally archiving all my old pics from 1988 onwards (my first camera, pre-digital camera days!), and all the family heirloom photos from the 1930s onward

Comments are closed.

